Proprietio vs AppFolio
An honest comparison — features, pricing, where each platform genuinely wins. Last verified 2026-07-06.
You want a long-established brand name for lender and investor diligence, you need AppFolio's separate commercial product lines, and you have a budget for onboarding fees ($400–$5,000+).
You run a mixed portfolio (residential, condo, and/or commercial) and want one workspace instead of a plan per asset class, you don't want a $280/mo minimum eating your margin, you want self-serve onboarding, or you need verticals AppFolio doesn't cover (HOA, condo, bilingual).
What you'd pay at your portfolio size
AppFolio Core is widely reported at ~$1.40 per unit per month with a ~$280/mo minimum. AppFolio does not publish unit rates or onboarding fees on its website — figures below come from third-party comparison sources (Capterra, GetApp, software-aggregators) and may vary. Onboarding fees: ~$400 Core, ~$1,000+ Plus, ~$2,000–$5,000+ Max (estimated).
16 categories compared
| Feature | Proprietio | AppFolio | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sticker price (50 units) | $99/mo Standard | ~$280/mo Core (minimum kicks in) | Proprietio |
| Effective $/unit at 50 units | $1.98/unit | ~$5.60/unit (4× the reported rate) | Proprietio |
| Monthly minimum | None | ~$280/mo Core, ~$900–$1,500 Plus (varies by source) | Proprietio |
| Onboarding fees | Free trial, free self-onboarding | Estimated $400 → $5,000+ (not disclosed by AppFolio) | Proprietio |
| Sign up with Google (one click) | Yes — portfolios under 10 doors | No self-serve signup — demo-only, sales-led | Proprietio |
| AI lease drafting | $3 / lease, 50-state clauses | Realm-X Flows on Plus / Max | Proprietio |
| AI maintenance triage | $1 / ticket | Realm-X Flows on Plus / Max | Tie |
| Double-entry GL + 1099 forms | Built-in (GL Standard+, 1099s Growth+) + year-end close & CPA export | Built-in | Tie |
| QuickBooks bidirectional sync | Pro+ ($1,699/mo), native | No native integration — third-party connectors only | Proprietio |
| HOA / condo workflows | Dedicated product line | Limited | Proprietio |
| Commercial real estate | Dedicated tier | Yes, multi-product | Tie |
| Bilingual EN/ES (lease + portal) | Full product line, §1632 | Not advertised | Proprietio |
| White-label portal (custom domain) | Add-on $199/mo (free Enterprise & PM Portfolio+) — portal on your own domain, no vendor mentions | Business-branded portals on higher tiers (pricing not disclosed) | Tie |
| Self-serve trial | 15-day trial, no card to start | Demo-only | Proprietio |
| Modern UI / mobile-first | The property OS for the rest of us | Built for desktop ops | Proprietio |
| AI assistant via MCP (ChatGPT) | Yes — live MCP connector | Not available | Proprietio |
Where AppFolio wins
- Brand recognition. AppFolio is a long-established name — that brand carries weight with lenders and investors.
- Commercial breadth. Multiple product lines for office, retail, industrial — AppFolio invests heavily in commercial.
- Mature integrations. Deep partner ecosystem accumulated over a decade.
Where Proprietio wins
- The minimum kills small portfolios. 50 units × $1.40 = $70 advertised, but you pay $280 (the floor). That's 4× the advertised per-unit rate.
- No onboarding tax. Proprietio is self-serve in 2 minutes; AppFolio onboarding is widely reported at $400 on Core, $1,000+ on Plus, up to $5,000 on Max (figures not disclosed by AppFolio publicly).
- Native QuickBooks sync. Proprietio Pro+ has bidirectional QuickBooks Online integration. AppFolio has no native QuickBooks integration — sync requires third-party connectors (Dancing Numbers, etc.).
- Self-serve trial. Start without a sales call. AppFolio is demo-gated.
- Bilingual EN/ES. California §1632 + Spanish portal. AppFolio does not advertise bilingual support.
- Modern UI. Built for mobile-first, AI-native workflows. AppFolio's UI is built for desktop power-users.
- Flat-rate pricing. No per-unit math, no minimum. Predictable budgeting.
Frequently asked
Is Proprietio cheaper than AppFolio?▾
Up to 50 units, yes — by a wide margin. At 50 units: Proprietio Standard $99/mo vs AppFolio Core ~$280/mo + ~$33/mo amortized onboarding ($400 / 12) ≈ $313/mo. That's ~3.2× more. Past 50 units the sticker line flips: Proprietio Growth is $429/mo (up to 250 units) and Pro is $1,699/mo (up to 1,000), while AppFolio Core's reported ~$1.40/unit with a ~$280 minimum comes to ~$280–$350/mo at 51–250 units and ~$1,400/mo at 1,000. AppFolio doesn't publish unit rates or onboarding fees publicly — figures cited here come from third-party sources.
Can I migrate from AppFolio to Proprietio?▾
Yes — AppFolio CSV exports are a first-class import path. The migration wizard handles units, tenants, leases, owners, vendors, and open balances. White-glove migration is free on Pro and Enterprise.
Is AppFolio better for larger portfolios?▾
Not on size. Proprietio has no portfolio-size limit: the same platform runs a few doors or hundreds of thousands, and past 1,000 units the plan moves to volume pricing quoted to your portfolio. Where AppFolio does lead is brand recognition and its separate commercial product lines. On price alone, Proprietio is cheaper only up to 50 units; above that, AppFolio Core's reported per-unit rate undercuts our Growth and Pro tiers on the sticker line, so the case for Proprietio there is operational — self-serve start, no onboarding fee, AI, bilingual and HOA workflows. We're honest about where each platform wins.
How often is this comparison updated?▾
Comparison pages are re-verified quarterly. The exact date is stamped in the footer below.
Switching from AppFolio? See the numbers for your portfolio.
Get a free, personalized audit — we map what you'd pay and gain moving off AppFolio to Proprietio, based on your real doors and feature mix. Emailed in minutes, no sales call.
Try Proprietio free for 15 days. No card to start.
See whether the flat-tier math, the AI features, and the bilingual + HOA + commercial verticals actually fit your portfolio. Cancel anytime.